Saturday, April 6, 2013

Coming Attractions: The Rose and the Thorn by Michael J. Sullivan

Fresh on the heels of the end of his Hollow World Kickstarter, Michael J. Sullivan has even more to crow about. Orbit has released the cover art and synopsis for the second of his Riyria prequel novels, The Rose and the Thorn. With the release of the first volume, The Crown Tower just around the bend, I'm excited to learn that the entire dualogy will be mine before years end. Fans of Royce and Hadrian are in for a good year, and Sullivan is yet again an author to watch.

Two thieves want answers. Riyria is born.
For more than a year Royce Melborn has tried to forget Gwen DeLancy, the woman who saved him and his partner Hadrian Blackwater from certain death. Unable to get her out of his mind, the two thieves return to Medford but receive a very different reception --- Gwen refuses to see them. The victim of abuse by a powerful noble, she suspects that Royce will ignore any danger in his desire for revenge. By turning the thieves away, Gwen hopes to once more protect them. What she doesn't realize is what the two are capable of --- but she's about to find out. 

So tell us, are you more excited by Sullivan's return to his fan-favorite stomping grounds, or his journey into new territory with Hollow World


  1. I am so excited for this! And also for his Kickstarter project Hollow World!

    1. This is Mogsy from BiblioSanctum, btw. You and I seem to share a similar taste in books.

  2. I really enjoy Sullivan's stuff. It's nostalgic without being disappointing upon reexamination like most of the books I loved in my youth.

    Plus, Michael has been so generous with his time by contributing to both Spec. Fic. 101 and doing an interview that I will always make time for his work.